编辑与全职写作者

大约两年前在一个公开场合,我曾经说我辞职了,从此要当全职作者,不过我很快就被现实打脸——在没有工作的那段时间,除了一次委托创作之外,写的东西没有什么可以拿出来发表的。这段经历和现在的编辑职业让我能够以一种不一样的眼光来读 Kelly Robson 在 Clarkesworld 上发表的专栏文章,《全职写作之梦》:

For many writers, the road to full-time writing is paved by a partner with a regular paycheck.

[…]

To make a living, successful full-time writers have to hustle. They write multiple books every year. They sculpt hybrid careers with traditionally-published books, short fiction, serials, and indie titles. They write popular blogs and groom vibrant social media presences. They claw back copyright on their out-of-print backlist and self-publish. They survey the market, developing expertise on all the publishing models and platforms. They put a lot of time and effort into PR, with appearances, newsletters, Patreon rewards, and guest blogging.

Other successful full-time writers edit magazines and anthologies, teach writing, or consult on other writers’ manuscripts. They work as journalists and book reviewers. Some write media tie-ins or consult to video game companies. Many teach writing in classrooms or online. They run workshops and master classes. Our writerly ecosystem is supported by full-time writers carving time out of their work days to supplement their writing income with peripheral jobs.

任何人在决定辞职写作之前,都需要先意识到,你很可能选择了一条比你现在的朝九晚五或者996、997的工作更加艰难的道路。想像中的那种全心投入的写作状态并不存在,你需要用更多的时间来给读者和评论者留下印象,经营自己的形象,还得不停地寻找除了作品稿费和版税之外的收入来源。最终能让你坐下来写作的时间,可能还和原来一样,只有每天深夜和凌晨的一两个小时。这一两个小时,你可能还会被和作为别人的雇员时没有的焦虑所影响。并不是每个人都能在这样的压力下有更好的表现。我知道我就无法处理好这种压力。

即使没有经济方面的压力,全职写作者还需要经常地与社会接触。每天到咖啡厅写作固然好过在家里宅,但是能接触到的人的多样性和接触的深度仍然远远落后于你在一份非写作的工作中所能得到的。在决定全职写作之前,你最好已经知道自己习惯并能坚持的写作节奏是什么,不然写作倦怠也很可能极大地限制你的产出。

作为编辑,我想我们应该为已经选择全职写作的作者做更多的工作。我们需要对他们的家庭和经济状况有更深入的了解,需要给予他们更多的媒体资源和亮相机会,需要帮助他们与上下游的内容开发者取得更多的联系。我们需要成为他们更好的参谋,帮助他们寻找更好的写作题材和方法。总之,编辑也需要为全职写作者想得更多、做得更多。

正因为这样,我想我应该阻止更多的人加入全职作者的行列,还得劝全职作者上岸找一份工作。毕竟一个编辑只能照顾好屈指可数的几个作者(苦笑)。如果我的作者愿意来帮我做编辑工作,那应该是对所有人都有好处的一件事吧。以下广告:

科幻小说编辑

职位描述:

职位要求:

优先条件:

投递简历:read-jobs@douban.com


xuqi2017-10-20 创建。最近修改于 2017-10-20 07:22

Hosted by neocities